You mean everyone here is represented in Congress?

In the age of Starbucks, cities often share more than they might have in the past.  But in moving from DC to Boston, I’ve noticed quite a few differences, which I’ll explore over the next few weeks.  This week: District vs State!

There is an underlying sense of pride and connection in Boston that doesn’t exist in DC.  I really think this stems from DC being a district and Boston being a city in a state.  No matter where you live around Boston, we’re all ultimately Massholes.  Whether you live in Boston proper, or in one of the immediately adjacent cities, there is a sense of being from Boston.  Gasp!  We’re all covered by the same state laws! 

I live right outside Boston, and it feels a lot different than living right outside DC.  (Full disclosure: I lived in DC, but I worked the equivalent of a town over.)  If you live right outside DC, you have to live in a different state.  Now this didn’t pose much of a physical barrier.  It was really simple to get from DC to Maryland or Virginia and vice versa.  But I think there’s a psychological barrier that creates a lack of pride.  It’s hard to think of DC as “your city” when you live in another state.

I loved DC, but I think it’s at a serious disadvantage in that it doesn’t belong to a state.  What do you think?

Leave a Reply

