Don’t Forsake Adventures

Today I went on a very small, but quite fulfilling, adventure.  It made me think how settled we get, and how we forsake adventures for trips.  Adventures are more fun, and, I think, important for a healthy life.  Trips are rote.

The difference between trips and adventures?  Well, we go on trips all the time.  We go to the grocery store, we grab drinks at our favorite bar, we go hang out at our friend’s house.  On a trip, you know where you’re going, most likely you’ve been there before, and you’ve got a plan to get from Point A to Point B.

Trips are easy.  Adventures are a bit rarer and require a “clearing” of time to do them.  Adventures happen when you don’t quite know where you are going.  You might be in a familiar spot, but you’re being spontaneous.  You don’t quite know where you’re going to end up.  You act and react with whatever happens in the moment.

This is why new places are so fun.  It can’t be rote when you’ve never been anywhere before.  You can’t go on auto-pilot.  But even when a place is not new, you can still have adventures.

My adventure today was sparked by the sole idea of walking outside in the snow.  With fresh snowfall, I couldn’t just stay inside.  I booted up (this isn’t sneaker weather), went outside and just started walking.  All I knew is that I wanted to be outside, to walk through snowbanks (thank you boots) and enjoy the hushed sound snow provides.  It allowed me to be in the moment, because I wasn’t already thinking about where I wanted to be.  I didn’t know where I would end up or how long I’d be gone.

In retrospect, the recap of my adventure sounds simple: I walked to the coffee shop at Porter Square Books, taking some pictures along the way.  But that misses the how of getting there.  It misses the journey.  That is to say, it misses the most important part.  Where people end up is a small part of any story — it’s how they got there that truly matters.

Gone on any adventures lately?

Leave a Reply

