Keep Life Weird


When I was a kid, life could very easily be weird, unexpected, and very interesting.  At least compared to life as a young adult.

I’d do spontaneous things, I’d embrace creativity, I’d dance or sing just because.  When young, actions that are outside the norm are easily “forgivable” or “accepted”. 

As we get older, there are more “rules” to follow, more “norms” to adhere to, more consequences to our actions. 

Yet I still love to let go a bit here and there.  Sometimes it’s in bigger ways that are readily apparent (quitting a stable job and moving to another city without another job during a recession comes to mind).  Sometimes it’s in smaller ways that are not observable (for example, I’ll randomly – not always – pay for a car behind me when I go through a toll). 

This post on Tiny Buddha included 25 ways to make any day more interesting and included a few gems.  My three favorites:

1. Start the day with a blank piece of paper and the question, “What if today were my last?” Write down what you’d do differently and then try to do at least 5 of those things.

9. Make it a goal to talk to five people you don’t know. And I mean real conversations. Ask them what they do on the weekends, what their favorite memory is, and whether or not they like spam. (OK, the last one is less interesting—but I think it says a lot about you if you eat unidentifiable lunch meat.)

10. Commit to complementing everyone you encounter on something. Sometimes it will be easy; sometimes it will be challenging. Every time it will brighten someone’s day and fill you with joy.

Do you have any tricks to make life interesting, weird, creative?

Leave a Reply

