What’s your adventure?

"Road" by geodesic

Adventures are often thought of as something that we have to break from our everyday life to pursue.

According to Wikipedia, “An adventure is defined as an exciting or unusual experience; it may also be a bold, usually risky undertaking, with an uncertain outcome.”

But how often are there certain outcomes in everyday life? Yes, there are things that are probable, but nothing is definite.

Every day, there are countless choices we all make. Whatever you and I are doing in life, we do not have to be doing it. Anything we do, we choose to be doing. Everything is a choice. There may be social/familial/cultural pressures, there may be beliefs or narratives that reenforce something, but, ultimately, we make a choice to do something or not to do it.

This mindset of choice makes it impossible to absolve myself of what I am doing (i.e. a feeling of hopelessness.) If I chose to be in this situation, I can choose to work through it. Or I can choose to not be in this situation. It also makes everything I do an adventure. If I have chosen to be in a situation, I can clearly choose to spice it up, or just generally kick ass at it. If I realize I don’t want to be in a situation, I can plan my out, and how to pursue my next adventure.

Even just describing everyday life  as an adventure changes my perspective and allows me to have more fun with it. We can each do something small to make each day more adventurous. I’ve taken backroads to work, walked to a friends house from three miles away (why not?), or gone on a hike in a new place to make my days more adventurous.

What are you doing on your adventure?

2 responses to “What’s your adventure?

  1. Sometimes when I read your posts, I want to quit my job and max out my credit cards while traveling the world.

  2. It’s a legitimate option, and you might not even max out your cards: How to Travel Around the World for $418.

Leave a Reply

