What action are you taking?

I love reading; I think it’s an incredibly important and powerful part of life.

I love fiction to take me away on grand adventures; I love learning about the latest news and gadgets; I love reading non-fiction to develop myself.  Recently, I’ve found myself really enjoying to learn new ideas from non-fiction, particularly blogs.

At the same time, I’ve begun wondering if all this reading has any impact.  There was some quote that I read recently that went something to the effect of (and I’m paraphrasing), “It’s easy to find a book to get through, but hard to find a book that gets through to you.”

Is my life different or better from what I’ve read recently?  I have undoubtedly obtained new knowledge, which is incredibly important in a knowledge-based society.  But have I bettered my life?  What action have I taken after reading these books?

To be honest: some.  Often, after reading something that impacts me, I’ll get excited, think about something for a while, and maybe even write some stuff down.  But then life catches up and I move on.  As an example, the video I posted last week asks two provoking questions.  I love the questions, but have not done anything with them yet.  Have you?

I’ve decided that I’m going to implement a small achievable habit to start and then (maybe in a week, maybe longer), I’ll add another.  My first new habit is from Tim Ferris’ The Four Hour Workweek:  Write down two goals for each day that, if accomplished, will make the day a success.  This is a goal that seems so easy (“I have goals at work anyway”, “2 isn’t hard” etc), which is exactly why I’m picking it.  I know that if I do this and accomplish it, I will be much more motivated to add another habit.

What action are you taking in your life?

Leave a Reply

