The Great Detox Adventure…

This past year, mostly thanks to experimenting with Tim Ferriss’ slow  carb diet in The 4-Hour Body, I have realized how much of an impact what I put in my body can have on it.  It sounds like an elementary concept, but there was something to be said when I experienced a dramatic shift in how I felt because of how I ate.

It’s been a while since I stopped the slow-carb diet and this week Kelly and her sister Dana are starting a detox program.  After some thought, I decided, what the hell, I would come along for the ride.  So, it came to pass… three “simple” things I am avoiding this week:

  1. Caffeine
  2. Alcohol
  3. Gluten

Every so often, I like to do small little challenges to ensure that I don’t become too dependent or addicted to any one thing.  I’ve done weeks without alcohol before, and it wasn’t too long ago that I did not much of a relationship with caffeine.  But I have never really gone gluten free, and I’m finding this one the hardest.  Yet, I have read that even people without celiac disease are not meant to digest as much gluten as we put in them.  Instead of relying on what I’ve read, I’ve decided to try it and see how I feel.

Today, my energy felt a lot more even (less spikes and crashes), even though I did develop a caffeine withdrawal headache (booooo).  Even such minor effects are major reminders to me of how what I eat affects how I feel.

Leave a Reply

