I AM ANGRY

When we describe feelings, we are often taking them on as “us”.  In other words, 99% of the time, we say that we ARE a feeling.  “I am angry” or “I am happy” or “I am frustrated.”

However, that’s not really the case.  You and I, we are not anger.  We are experiencing the feeling of anger.  Anger is occurring within us at a certain moment.  I find there to be immense power in recognizing what is occurring, versus being consumed by a feeling.

In fact, I find the same is true for positive emotions.  If I recognize joy, happiness, gratitude as something that I am experiencing, I am more mindful to it and enjoy it to the fullest.

As soon as I recognizing that I have the feeling of “anger” or “boredom” or “happiness”, it allows me to experience the emotion fully and let it pass.  If I say to myself “I am bored,” then I am literally defining myself as bored, which makes changing (or accepting change from that state) from that much more difficult.

Active remembering of this can be a challenge, but I find that exercise, yoga, and meditation help me to remain present to this.

Leave a Reply

